Skip to product information
1 of 3

Badgers Den Records

Various Artists - The Original Sound of Burkina Faso

Various Artists - The Original Sound of Burkina Faso

Regular price $54.00 NZD
Regular price Sale price $54.00 NZD
Sale Sold out

Various Artists - The Original Sound of Burkina Faso


Mr Bongo 

Limited double vinyl LP pressing in gatefold jacket. 2017 release.

The Original Sound of Burkina Faso follows the hugely successful The Original Sound of Mali compilation released in March this year, also on Mr. Bongo. Here we have a collection of songs that pay tribute to a truly golden age of music; touching on folk, funk, blues, highlife, disco, psyche, Latin, rock and soul. Burkina Faso may be one of the least well-known parts of West Africa but it has a deep history and musical pedigree.

A few years before President Thomas Sankara changed his country's name from Upper Volta to it's current one, a new sound emerged to soundtrack a cultural revolution. Featuring music by Abdoulaye Cissé, Amadou Balaké, Pierre Sandwidi & Super Volta, Tidiani Coulibaly & Dafra Star, Bozambo, Youssouf Diarra and more.

Track Listing:

  1. Abdoulaye Cissé - Jeunesse Wilila
  2. Abdoulaye Cissé - Tieba Lou Tounouna
  3. Bozambo - Kombissé?Amadou Balaké - Whisky et Coca-Cola
  4. John Oumar Nabollé - M’ba Lalé
  5. Pierre Sandwidi - Boy Cuisinier
  6. Tidiani Coulibaly & Dafra Star - Sie Koumgolo
  7. Amadou Balaké - Super Bar Konon Mousso
  8. Mangue Kondé et Les 5 Consuls - Pop Kondé
  9. Youssouf Diarra (dit El Grand Ballaké) - Djanfa Magni
  10. Amadou Balaké – Wayisjelequeyele
  11. Amadou Balaké - Aminata Du Thé?
  12. Abdoulaye Cissé & Super Volta - A Son Magni


View full details