Skip to product information
1 of 2

Badgers Den Records

Various Artists - Hidden Waters: Strange and Sublime Sounds of Rio de Janeiro

Various Artists - Hidden Waters: Strange and Sublime Sounds of Rio de Janeiro

Regular price $68.00 NZD
Regular price Sale price $68.00 NZD
Sale Sold out

Various Artists - Hidden Waters: Strange and Sublime Sounds of Rio de Janeiro

Mr Bongo

‘Hidden Waters: Strange and Sublime Sounds of Rio de Janeiro’ is compiled by Joe Osborne (founder of specialist Brazilian music platform Brazilian Wax) and Russ Slater (editor at large of Sounds and Colours). Focusing solely on the 'Rio Scene', rather than taking on the mammoth task of tackling Brazil as a whole, this collection presents 20-plus ground-breaking artists selected from Rio’s resurgent music scene. By presenting a snapshot into the pulse of the city and the vibrant musicians that live in it, ‘Hidden Waters’ collates tracks from a wide spectrum of musical genres from the avant-garde edge to bossa nova, samba, Candomblé, lo-fi rock, jazz and funk.

‘Hidden Waters’ showcases musicians such as iconic Rio mainstays Negro Leo & Ava Rocha, Brazilian jazz upstart Antônio Neves, critically lauded Avant-pop trailblazer Thiago Nassif, breakthrough artists Ana Frango Elétrico and Letrux, lo-fi psych rocker Lê Almeida, plus the Latin Grammy-winning Bala Desejo who are set to explode onto the world stage.

The music featured on ‘Hidden Waters’ is unequivocally Brazilian, swelling with samba, bossa nova, funk, and jazz. But it’s within the album's blend; from sunny psychedelia to dusky synth-pop via experimental electronics, that marks the compilation as the sound of modern, multicultural Rio. Fans of Brazil’s fertile 60s and 70s will spot the antecedents in Tropicália. Not only in the experimentation but also through the similar political context: back in the late 60s there was Brazil’s military dictatorship, and up until the end of 2022 it was Bolsonaro’s censorious premiership. Here are a group of musicians writing and reflecting on another colourful chapter within Brazil’s musical history.

This comprehensive compilation comes with album artwork designed by Rio music’s leading album artwork designer, Caio Paiva. It features essays by professor and music critic Bernardo Oliveira and music journalist Leonardo Lichote, plus extensive notes on each track by the artists themselves.


01. Ana Frango Elétrico - Saudade
02. Pedro Fonte - Clichê
03. Bala Desejo - Lua Comanche
04. Ava Rocha - Boca do Céu
05. Exército de Bebês - Avós da Experiência
06. Thiago Nassif - Soar Estranho (feat. Arto Lindsay, Vinicius Cantuária & Gabriela Riley)
07. Negro Leo – Mulato
08. Mari Romano - Amélie
10. Dora Morelenbaum - Vento de Beirada
11. Cadu Tenório & Juçara Marçal - Candombe - La Cacundê Iauê
12. Jonas Sa - Gigolô
13 Troá - Bandeide
14. Marcelo Callado - Simbora (feat. Silvia Machete)
15. Ovo Ou Bicho - Moços
16. Lê Almeida - Apreço Antigo
17. Vovô Bebê - Briga de Família (feat. Ana Frango)
18. Joana Queiroz - Dois Litorais / 19. Raquel Dimantas - Flecha Azul / 20. António Neves & Thiaguinho Silva - Das Neves / 21. Letrux - Dorme Com Essa / 22. Os Ritmistas - Sambolero
View full details