Skip to product information
1 of 4

Badgers Den Records

Straitjacket Fits - Melt

Straitjacket Fits - Melt

Regular price $45.00 NZD
Regular price Sale price $45.00 NZD
Sale Sold out

StraitJacket Fits - Melt

Flying Nun

A very fabulous 2019 reissue of this classic slice of New Zealand indie-rock.

Melt is a loud guitar complex thing dominated by Shayne Carter’s amplified and distorted guitar vision given light fop pop relief by Andrew Brough.

An album full of igneous rock majesty. Carter’s ‘Bad Note for a Heart”“Headwind”, “A.P.S”“Roller Ride” and “Cast Stone” are all abstractly chiseled boulders of guitar rock greatness and amongst Straitjacket Fits finest work. Andrew Brough’s gem like contributions, “Down in Splendour” and “Hand in Mine”, offer another perspective on another scale. These polished pieces of translucent sparkle are complete in themselves as high pop art and as needed balance and contrast to the monumental crush of Carter's work.

Let us remember that Straitjackets Fits were a band. A band at it’s very best on this album, Melt. As well as writing the songs Carter and Brough are very fine singers and guitarists mutually contributing to each of the songs on the album. At their best the interplay is seductive and key to the creative success of the album. Throughout, the rhythm section of Collie and Wood hold it all together at the heart of the musical maelstrom. Melt is the work of a band at its collective creative height. 


1. Bad Note for a Heart
2. Missing Presumed Drowned
3. Melt Against Yourself
4. Headwind
5. Down in Splendour
6. A.P.S.
7. Quiet Come
8. Such a Daze
9. Skin to Wear
10. Hand in Mine
11. Roller Ride
12. Cast Stone 
View full details