Skip to product information
1 of 2

Badgers Den Records

RADIOHEAD - In Rainbows

RADIOHEAD - In Rainbows

Regular price $62.00 NZD
Regular price Sale price $62.00 NZD
Sale Sold out

RADIOHEAD - In Rainbows

XL Records ReIssue

'In Rainbows' is the seventh studio album by Radiohead, first self-released on 10 October 2007 as a pay-what-you-want download, followed by a physical release internationally by XL Recordings starting on 3 December 2007 and in the United States on 1 January 2008 by TBD Records.

'In Rainbows' was Radiohead's first release after the end of their contract with EMI labels Parlophone and Capitol Records. Recording with their longtime producer Nigel Godrich, Radiohead worked on the album for more than two years, beginning in early 2005. Between recording, the band toured Europe and North America for three months during mid-2006, performing many new songs from the album.


After 15 years of continual, radical transformation, Radiohead found themselves with time, freedom and acquired wisdom. In Rainbows is the result years of jumping into the unknown and pushing one another’s creativity.

From the crunching, fluttering drum machine intro to the opening track 15 Steps it was clear it was a fully fledged Radiohead classic. As 15 Steps transitions from an electro beat to a full band number, the currents drag you deep into Radiohead’s idiosyncrasies, by the time Bodysnatchers hits (and it doesn’t half hit) nothing else seems to matter but the burnt out kraut hook and Yorke’s pained whines.

Weird Fishes/ Arpeggi and Reckoner both appear to be the odd cousins of John Fruscianti’s California funk, in which both the drums are mixed high, giving your heart something to worry about. The solitary moments with Thom Yorke on the backwardly twisted Nude, the serene Faust Arp and Videotape that dooms us all, turning the screw on our human psyche. At times it’s hard not wince in familiarity yet he is not wallowing in self-pity, he is human and articulate and unfortunately for us, we know where he’s coming from.

With this album Radiohead also incorporated a variety of musical styles and instruments, using electronic music, string arrangements, pianos.

Previous experiments bleed all over the album, warped electronics, brazen hooks and maudlin melodies while Yorke turns the screw on the human psyche. In Rainbows is Radiohead’s perfect form. The jigsaw falling into place.

The songwriting of the songs on 'In Rainbows' is more personal than other Radiohead albums, with the band's lead singer Thom Yorke describing most of the songs as his versions of "seduction songs".


  1. 15 Step 
  2. Bodysnatchers 
  3. Nude
  4. Weird Fishes/Arpeggi 
  5. All I Need
  6. Faust Arp 
  7. Reckoner 
  8. House of Cards
  9. Jigsaw Falling Into Place 
  10. Videotape 
View full details